A Thank You Letter by Muhammad Suleiman Awad of Khirbet a-Duqaiqah

19.8.2014

 Our Dear Friends,

These are hard times that we have been and are still going through.

The war, in and of itself, is so hard to bear. Hard to bear is also our helplessness about it, for all we can do is call our Gazan friends and check, daily, if they are still alive.

Hard to bear is the sense of loneliness of those who see the Tsunami trampling on, dripping with hatred, racism, calls for revenge and war mongering, the likes of which had not been seen in our streets, blind as they can sometimes be.

And in addition to all that, to awaken again to the scorching realization that reading the map correctly and alerting of the approaching danger – won’t make the slightest difference.

 

There are moments in which it is tempting to stand on the roof of the world’s wagon and shout: “Stop the train, we want to get off.”

Nevertheless, the sun shines every morning, illuminating the world.  And because the sun illuminates the world, we can also see its beauty and what needs to be done, if only since this is the natural role of the heart.

And in the words of the Canadian author and facilitator, Oria Mountain Dreamer, inspired by Indian wisdom:  “It doesn’t interest me to know where you live or how much money you have. I want to know if you can get up after the night of grief and despair, weary and bruised to the bone and do what needs to be done to feed the children.”

 

So, we get up in the morning and do but a little of what needs to be done…

We did such little of what needs to be done when we connected between you and Muhammad, of the Bedouin village  Khirbet a-Duqaiqah, in the South Hebron Hills. This connection opened up a new horizon of opportunities for Muhammad, whose entire body is paralyzed. At the same time it opened, for us and for you, an opportunity to show goodwill and generosity against the alienation and ruthlessness that feed the ongoing horror that have struck again in great force during the last month.

 

Erella, Hamed, Danny, Nadav and Ehud, in the name of the Villages Group

 

Here is a translation of Muhammad’s thank you letter.

 

In the name of God, the Compassionate, the Merciful,

Prayer and peace be upon our master Muhammad,

God’s prayer and his favors be upon the chosen prophet.

 

I am sending this letter feeling calm and joyous. I am sending it from the bottom of my heart and in full gratitude towards the people who stood by me and helped me. I reckon the world is still in a good state and there are good people with humane feelings towards their fellow human beings.

 

And I go on and say:

Peace be upon you and God’s mercy and His blessings be upon you, you who stood by me, promised and fulfilled your promises.

And especially, I would like to mention Mrs. Erella, and Dr. Ehud, and Mr. Danny.

And I will never, in all my life, forget the dear brother Hamed Qawasmeh, and how he assisted me in my journey. I wish you full health and longevity.

And from the bottom of my heart I thank the people whom I don’t know personally, who made the purchase of the car financially possible. I cherish each and every one of you for your generosity.

 

I wish I could be available for you and return your favor, all that you made possible for me, but I am completely disabled and unable to move. I pray for your sake, that God will speed you in all your deeds  for humanity and for every person  in need, in every place you will reach. Also, I pray for all people from all religions, to feel each other’s needs, and for peace to prevail in our country, and for all of us to be friends, and to love and respect one another, and help one another, since life, if we calculate them in days and hours, are very short. So, why not be good people who feel each other’s needs? And when we leave this life, those who outlive us will remember us in our good deeds.

 

Thank you all for extending a helping hand and being true to your word. Thank you all.

And I have a request from you, my friends Erella, Ehud, Danny, Nadav and Hamed – please keep in touch and don’t stop visiting me.

I pray for your health with joy. Thank you.

  Muhammad Suleiman Awad

 

Muhammad and Erella Muhammad in the car Muhammad with Hamed and Erella Muhammad with the Villages Group's visitors Muhammad's car

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Christopher Rushlau  On August 28, 2014 at 1:39 am

    So if Israel betrays the world’s trust and doesn’t open up the border to Gaza, will Gaza go back to “war”? For Israel’s sake, I hope so.

Leave a Reply

